AANS Neurosurgeon | Volume 28, Number 1, 2019


2019 AANS Humanitarian Award Nominations

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Nominations Due Oct. 15, 2018

Voting members of the AANS are invited to submit nominations for the 2019 Humanitarian Award by Oct. 15, 2018. The award will be presented at the 87th AANS Annual Scientific Meeting, to be held April 13-17, 2019, in San Diego. The Humanitarian Award honors an AANS member whose activities outside of medicine bring great benefit to society. Nominees can be living members from any category of AANS membership who give selflessly of time or talents to a charitable or public activity, who are deserving of recognition by the AANS and whose actions enhance neurosurgery’s image. Activities may be international, national, regional or local in nature and benefit humanity, collectively or individually, without providing remuneration to the recipient. For more details and the nomination form, click here or contact Meg Borst at mab@aans.org or 847.378.0504.

Previous Humanitarian Award Recipients

1987    Courtland H. Davis Jr., MD, FAANS
1988    Gaston J. Acosta-Rua, MD
1989    Hugo V. Rizzoli, MD, FAANS
1990    A. Roy Tyrer Jr., MD
1991    George B. Udvarhelyi, MD
1992    William H. Mosberg Jr., MD
1993    Manual M. Velasco-Suarez, MD
1994    Edward Fletcher Eyster, MD, FAANS
1995    Melvin L. Cheatham, MD, FAANS
1997    Robert Joseph White, MD, PhD
1998    Howard Lee Finney, MD
1999    Thomas B. Flynn, MD, FAANS
2000    Merwyn Bagan, MD, MPH, FAANS
2001    Gary D. VanderArk, MD, FAANS
2002    Edgar M. Housepian, MD, FAANS
2004    Charles Leon Branch Sr., MD, FAANS
2005    Tetsuo Tatsumi, MD
2006    Gene Emery Bolles, MD, FAANS
2007    Benjamin C. Warf, MD, FAANS
2008    Robert J. Dempsey, MD, FAANS
2009    Armando Basso, MD
2010    Timir Banerjee, MD, FAANS
2011    Barth A. Green, MD, FAANS
2012    A. Leland Albright, MD
2013    Mark Bernstein, MD, FAANS
2014    Anselmo Pineda, MD, FAANS(L)
2015    Michael M. Haglund, MD, PhD, FAANS
2016    Karin M. Muraszko, MD, FAANS
2017    John Ragheb, MD, FAANS
2018    Jack P. Rock, MD, FAANS

Leave a Reply

Be the first to reply using the above form.