AANS Neurosurgeon | Volume 28, Number 4, 2019


2016 AANS Humanitarian Award Nominations Due

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Voting members of the American Association of Neurological Surgeons (AANS) are invited to submit nominations for the 2016 AANS Humanitarian Award by Oct. 15, 2015. The award will be presented at the 84th AANS Annual Scientific Meeting, to be held April 30-May 4, 2016, in Chicago. The AANS Humanitarian Award honors an AANS member whose activities outside of medicine bring great benefit to society. Nominees can be living members from any category of AANS membership who give selflessly of time or talents to a charitable or public activity, who are deserving of recognition by the AANS and whose actions enhance neurosurgery’s image. Activities may be international, national, regional or local in nature and benefit humanity collectively or individually without providing remuneration to the recipient.

For more details and the nomination form, click here, or contact Meg Borst at mab@aans.org
or 847.378.0504.

The previous recipients of the award:

1987?Courtland H. Davis Jr., MD, FAANS
1988?Gaston J. Acosta-Rua, MD
1989?Hugo V. Rizzoli, MD, FAANS
1990?A. Roy Tyrer Jr., MD
1991?George B. Udvarhelyi, MD
1992?William H. Mosberg Jr., MD
1993?Manual M. Velasco-Suarez, MD
1994?Edward Fletcher Eyster, MD, FAANS
1995?Melvin L. Cheatham, MD, FAANS
1997?Robert Joseph White, MD, PhD
1998?Howard Lee Finney, MD
1999?Thomas B. Flynn, MD, FAANS
2000?Merwyn Bagan, MD, MPH, FAANS
2001?Gary D. VanderArk, MD, FAANS
2002?Edgar M. Housepian, MD, FAANS
2004?Charles Leon Branch Sr., MD, FAANS
2005?Tetsuo Tatsumi, MD
2006?Gene Emery Bolles, MD, FAANS
2007?Benjamin C. Warf, MD, FAANS
2008?Robert J. Dempsey, MD, FAANS
2009?Armando Basso, MD
2010?Timir Banerjee, MD, FAANS
2011?Barth A. Green, MD, FAANS
2012?A. Leland Albright, MD
2013?Mark Bernstein, MD, FAANS
2014?Anselmo Pineda, MD, FAANS(L)
2015?Michael M. Haglund, MD, PhD, FAANS

Leave a Reply

Souheil Haddad | March 29, 2016 at 6:43 pm

Has the 2016 Humanitarian AANS award been awarded?